“Right to Work,” by the Numbers: Part 11: Adult Obesity Rates

ACADEME BLOG

Comparing the following two maps does not provide a basis for making the case that “right to work” enhances public health and the quality of life of workers and their families:

US Map 1

Obesity Rates

In the interest of full disclosure and to make it plain that I am not engaging in “fat shaming,” I am a person of “girth.” (How is that for a euphemism?) By that, I mean that if I ever somehow managed to squeeze myself into a sub-compact car or into a “tiny house,” they would either have to cut me out of it or bury me in it.

But, there is no denying that if I were thinner (in my case, actual thinness seems a very remote possibility), I would be healthier now and have better prospects for a longer and healthier life.

Although I am an outlier in this respect, obesity rates have been broadly correlated to low…

View original post 228 more words

Leave a Reply

